An Admin Note

Updating the blog every week has been tough, to say the least.

I didn’t like that I couldn’t fully pursue the social history track. I guess that will depend on how I can obtain access to the The Tuesday Report – which I believe is one of Mediacorp’s longest running documentary series on how life is in Singapore.

There are other things that I hope to pursue, such as trying to understand the various options Singapore has for their her future(s). An important element that I’ve been thinking about, is how we have in our minds the notion of how we appear to imbibe in this myth that an individual’s gain must necessarily come at the expense of others. This is physically true in some domains, but need not be so in other domains. When we live in more and more finite spaces, there surely must be ways to live more expansively in  non-physical domains. HT to Hawyee for this.

Another, more metaphysical piece could be about the ambivalence of life, in part inspired by what Annie Leonard did in The Story of Stuff. She is obviously an environmentalist, but the same question remains: what do we do, when those of us who live privileged, materially abundant life, live so, only because of the suffering of others? I’m also reminded of the story, The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas. Read about the story here. Bryan Stevenson’s TEDtalk goes, “We love innovation. We love technology. We love creativity. We love entertainment. But ultimately, these those realities are shadowed by suffering, abuse, degradation, marginalization.” For now, I cannot help but dwell on these themes more actively. I don’t know how I could explore these things, if at all.

What does this mean for the blog? This means that I hope to write longer, more thoughtful pieces, but they will come less frequently. Weeks or even months might pass between posts, but I hope the posts will be better, explore things with depth, and dare I hope, with data, even. I can’t promise, as I’ve seen how that failed with the social history thread. Along the way, I’ll be exploring other formats, or even incorporate photography.

I’ll see how this goes.

Leave a Reply

